NASA’s Curiosity Rover

 December 10, 2012 - Scott Rowland, University of Hawaii

Scott Rowland is a geologist at the University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa, and has been teaching and researching there since 1989. He is a graduate of Roosevelt High School, Oregon State University, and the University of Hawai‘i.  Since 2004 he has been a Co-Investigator on the MMM (MAHLI, MARDI, MASTCAM) camera team for NASA’s Curiosity rover.  More about the rover at MSNBC.

NASA’s Curiosity rover is as big as a car.

Dutch Lunch Today!

Join us today for the last dutch lunch of 2012! It’s at 12:30pm at Hasr Bistro on N. Pauahi.

Dec 6  ~ Dutch Lunch, Hasr Bistro, 12:30pm

Dec 10  ~ MEETING: Scott Rowland, UH, Co-Investigator/Camera Team, NASA’s Curiosity Rover
Dec 15  ~ Christmas party, Mid-Pacific Institute 5pm

Dec 17  ~ MEETING: Pack gifts for Next Step Shelter

Dec 18 ~ Next Step Shelter, 6pm

Dec 24  ~ Merry Christmas - no meeting

Dec 31  ~ Happy New Year! no meeting

Jan 7  ~ MEETING: Welcome back!

Last Monday: Anthony Ching, Hawaii Community Development Authority

Nolan Pong, Dawn Soderquist Okano, Anthony Ching, Joe Ferraro, Mike Doss

What’s going on in Kakaako? Anthony J.H. Ching is the Executive Director of the Hawaii Community Development Authority (HCDA) which is charged with planning and implementing community development programs for areas designated as “Community Development Districts” by the State Legislature. The 600-acre Kaka’ako District is bounded by Piikoi, King, Punchbowl Streets and Ala Moana Boulevard, and includes the waterfront area from Kewalo Basin to Forrest Avenue. Through a private-public partnership between the State of Hawaii and major landowners Howard Hughes Corp. and Kamehameha Schools, the HCDA seeks to establish Kakaako as the most desirable urban place in Hawaii in which people can work, live, visit, learn and play. Click here to discover more about Kakaako. 

Club Business

PP Jerry Howfolt with the Membership Minute

Rob Hail remembers Phaly Nuon, Director of Future Light Orphanage

Congratulations to President Mike Doss on his Paul Harris recognition.

PP Dave Mozdren and Mr. Van Mozdren

Da International Service Boyz: Eric Kaler, Andrew Lanning, Dave Erdman; PP Amin Leiman and Joe Rice.

Find us at:  | facebook | twitter as rotaryhonsunris
Leave a Reply

Blog Archives

Signup for Our Club News & Updates